Only days left...

Jörg Widmann

Born in Munich in 1973, the composer and clarinetist Jörg Widmann received his first lessons in composition with Kay Westermann at the age of eleven and continued with Hans Werner Henze, Wilfried Hiller and Wolfgang Rihm. For his achievements in composition he has received several awards such as the Belmont Prize for contemporary music, the Ernst-von-Siemens Music Foundation Prize and the honorary award of the Munich Opern-Festspiele. He has been invited as composer in residence with among others the DSO Berlin, the 2004 Salzburg Festival and the Oxford Chamber Music Festival.

He studied clarinet at the Academy of Music in Munich with Gerd Strake and at the Juilliard School of Music in New York with Charles Neidich. As a performer he won first prizes at the Carl-Maria-von-Weber-Competition in Munich and at the Competition of German Music Colleges in Berlin and other awards such as the Bavarian State Prize for Young Artists. Widmann has performed with renowned international and national orchestras. He is one of the founders of the Ensemble TrioLog, which aims to promote the music of the 20th and 21st century.

Since 1993 he has held master classes at the Royal Academy of Music in London, at the conservatory in Odessa and at the Academy of Music in Lisbon. In 2001, Jörg Widmann was appointed professor of clarinet at the State Academy of Music in Freiburg. (Status 2006, Source: Jörg Widmann)

 

back to ›Composers‹

Noch Tage...

Jörg Widmann

Der 1973 in München geborene Komponist und Klarinettist Jörg Widmann erhielt seinen ersten Kompositionsunterricht im Alter von elf Jahren bei Kay Westermann. Studien bei Hans Werner Henze, Wilfried Hiller und Wolfgang Rihm folgten. Für seine kompositorischen Leistungen gewann er zahlreiche Auszeichnungen wie den Belmont-Preis für zeitgenössische Musik, einen Preis der Ernst-von-Siemens-Stiftung und den Ehrenpreis der Münchner Opernfestspiele. Er wurde als ›Composer in residence‹ u. a. vom Deutschen Sinfonie-Orchester Berlin, dem Salzburg Festival 2004 und dem Oxford Kammermusikfestival eingeladen.

Er studierte Klarinette an der Hochschule für Musik in München bei Gerd Strake und an der Juilliard Schule für Musik in New York bei Charles Neidich. Als Klarinettist gewann er erste Preise beim Carl-Maria-von-Weber-Wettbewerb in München und beim Wettbewerb deutscher Musikhochschulen in Berlin und andere Auszeichnungen wie den Bayerischen Staatspreis für junge Künstler. Widmann spielt mit renommierten internationalen und nationalen Orchestern. Er ist einer der Gründer des Ensembles TrioLog, welches sich auf die Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts spezialisiert hat. 

Seit dem Jahre 1993 gibt er Meisterkurse an der Royal Academy of Music in London, am Konservatorium in Odessa und an der Hochschule für Musik in Lissabon. Seit 2001 ist Jörg Widmann Professor für Klarinette an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik in Freiburg. (Stand 2006, Quelle: Jörg Widmann)

 

zurück zu ›Komponisten‹