Alexander Won-Ho Kim


Alexander Won-Ho Kim studied with Helge Slaatto at the Hochschule für Musik in Münster and with Zakhar Bron at the Zurich University of the Arts. Currently he is studying under Professor Antje Weithaas at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin and under Janine Jansen at the Haute École de Musique de Lausanne in Sion.

Alexander Won-Ho Kim is a laureate of the Berlingske Tidende Music Competition in Copenhagen, the Tonali Grand Prix in Hamburg and the Max Rostal Competition in Berlin. He has appeared as soloist with numerous orchestras including the Zurich Chamber Orchestra, the Philharmonia of the Nations and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.

Alexander Won-Ho Kim has been invited to festivals such as the Rheingau Musik Festival, the Heidelberger Frühling, the Grachtenfestival in Amsterdam and the International Chamber Music Festival in Utrecht („Janine Jansen and Friends“).

Alexander Won-Ho Kim plays on a violin by Giovanni Grancino (1673), kindly on loan from the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben.


Johann Sebastian Bach: Sonata for solo violin in G minor, BWV 1001

Eugène Ysaÿe: Sonata for solo violin, op. 27 No. 5

On stage: 28.09.2021, 11:30 a.m.



Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for violin and piano in E-flat major, op. 12 No. 3

Henryk Wieniawski: Fantaisie brillante sur des motifs de l'opera "Faust" de Gounod, op. 20

On stage: 30.09.2021, 6:45 p.m.

Accompanied by Miki Aoki.



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Concert for violin and orchestra in D major, KV 218

Béla Bartók: Divertimento, Sz 113



Joseph Haydn: String quartet movement

Béla Bartók: Sonata for solo violin, Sz 117 – I. Tempo di ciaccona

Olivier Messiaen: Thème et variations

Isang Yun: Li-Na im Garten, (4) Der Boxer von nebenan, (5) Das Vögelchen

Franz Schubert: Fantasy for violin and piano in C major, D 934



Manfred Trojahn: To be played in the garden

Johannes Brahms: Concert for violin and orchestra in D major, op. 77