Chiara Sannicandro

Laureate 2021

At the JJV 2021, Chiara Sannicandro has won the Audience Award and some concert engagements. As a finalist, she holds the title "Laureate of the Joseph Joachim International Violin Competition Hannover".

Chiara Sannicandro was born in Salzburg and started violin lessons when she was four years old. At the age of nine she was accepted to the Pre-College at the Mozarteum University Salzburg, where she studied with Klara Flieder. From 2016-2020 she studied with Mauricio Fuks at the Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington, USA, where she finished her Bachelor with high distinction.

She is prizewinner of several national and international competitions. Most recently Chiara Sannicandro was awarded 2nd prize and audience award at the 27th International Brahms Competition in Pörtschach as well as the 2nd prize at the International Hudson Valley Philharmonic String competition in NY.

She has played multiple concerts as a soloist in Europe and the USA and obtained important musical impulses and experiences at the Violin Masterclasses and Chamber Music Projects “Mit Musik Miteinander” at the Kronberg Academy. Chiara Sannicandro loves to communicate with other musicians through chamber music and orchestral playing and likes to connect with other art forms.



Johann Sebastian Bach: Sonata for solo violin in G minor, BWV 1001

Eugène Ysaÿe: Sonata for solo violin, op. 27 No. 1

On stage: 29.09.2021, 8:00 p.m.



Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for violin and piano in A major, op. 30 No. 1

Henryk Wieniawski: Fantaisie brillante sur des motifs de l'opera "Faust" de Gounod, op. 20

On stage: 02.10.2021, 1:25 p.m.

Accompanied by Boris Kusnezow.



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Concert for violin and orchestra in D major, KV 218

Béla Bartók: Divertimento, Sz 113

On stage: 05.10.2021, 8:00 p.m.


Joseph Haydn: String quartet movement

Johannes Brahms: Sonata for violin and piano No. 2 in A major, op. 100

Karol Szymanowski: Mythes, op. 30 – I. La Fontaine d’Arethuse, III. Dryades et Pan

Béla Bartók: Rhapsody No. 2, Sz 90

On stage: 07.10.2021, 9:45 p.m.



Manfred Trojahn: To be played in the garden

Robert Schumann: Concert for violin and orchestra in D minor

On stage: 10.10.2021, Final Concerts Part 1 (11:30 a.m. till 1:50 p.m.)