Javier Comesaña

Laureate 2021

At the JJV 2021, Javier Comesaña has won the Giovanni Battista Guadagnini violin on a three-year loan from the Fritz Behrens Foundation. In addition, the finalist and "Laureate of the Joseph Joachim International Violin Competition Hannover" has received numerous concert engaments.

Born in Seville (1999), Javier Comesaña Barrera is a former student of Yuri Managadze and Sergey Teslya. He made his Bachelor at Reina Sofia School of Music in Madrid, under the teaching of Marco Rizzi, and also increased his knowledge in masterclasses led by Mihaela Martin, Silvia Marcovici, Renaud Capuçon and Miriam Fried, amongst others. He received, from Her Majesty Queen Sofia of Spain, the Diploma as the Most Outstanding student of the year in 2019 and 2021.

In 2021 Javier Comesaña Barrera got two important awards: the 1st prize at the Jascha Heifetz Competition in Vilnius, and the Prinz von Hessen-Preis given by the Kronberg Academy.

As a soloist, he has performed under the baton of conductors like Pablo González, Modestas Barkauskas, Ivan Monighetti and Borja Quintas, amongst others. As a chamber music player, he has played in many different formations in places like the National Auditorium of Music, Teatro Real de Madrid and Casino de Madrid.

He plays an instrument made by Justin Derazey, at the end of the 19th century.



Johann Sebastian Bach: Sonata for solo violin in G minor, BWV 1001

Paul Hindemith: Sonata for solo violin in G minor, op. 11 No. 6

On stage: 28.09.2021, 6:00 p.m.



Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for violin and piano in G major, op. 96

Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst: Grand Caprice, op. 26 (after F. Schubert: Der Erlkönig, D. 328)

On stage: 01.10.2021, 11:10 a.m.

Accompanied by Paul Rivinius.



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Concert for violin and orchestra in B-flat major, KV 207

Béla Bartók: Divertimento, Sz 113

On stage: 04.10.2021, 8:00 p.m.


Joseph Haydn: String quartet movement

Igor Strawinsky: Suite Italienne ffor violin and piano (after "Pulcinella")

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for violin and piano No. 9 in A major, op. 47

On stage: 06.10.2021, 9:45 p.m.



Manfred Trojahn: To be played in the garden

Robert Schumann: Concert for violin and orchestra in D minor

On stage: 10.10.2021, Final Concerts Part 2 (4:00 p.m. till 6:20 p.m.)