Maria Ioudenitch

Joseph Joachim Award Winner 2021

At the JJV 2021, Maria Ioudenitch has not only won the main prize "Joseph Joachim", but also the Chamber Music Award, the Henle Urtext Award and the Warner Classics Award. She has also been awarded for the best interpretation of the commissioned work and has received several concert engagements.

An American with a Russian heart and soul, Maria Ioudenitch was born in Balashov, Russia and grew up in Kansas City, where she studied with Ben Sayevich. She then continued her studies at the Curtis Institute of Music with Shmuel Ashkenasi and Pamela Frank, and the New England Conservatory with Miriam Fried.

Maria Ioudenitch’s recent solo engagements have included performances with the Utah Symphony, the Israel Camerata, the Kansas City Symphony, and Mariinsky Symphony Orchestra. Recent chamber music performances have taken her across South America with Roberto Diaz, and the New England area with Miriam Fried. Maria Ioudenitch was appointed Concertmaster of the Curtis Symphony Orchestra for 2016-2017, ending the season with a tour through Europe featuring Strauss’s “Ein Heldenleben”. This summer, she attended the Marlboro Music Festival.

Apart from classical music, Maria Ioudenitch adores Jazz and visual art. Currently, her favorite artists are Robert Schumann (Classical), Oscar Peterson (Jazz), and Remedíos Varo (surrealist art)!



Johann Sebastian Bach: Sonata for solo violin in A minor, BWV 1003

Eugène Ysaÿe: Sonata for solo violin, op. 27 No. 1

On stage: 28.09.2021, 8:00 p.m.



Franz Schubert: Sonata for violin and piano in A major, D 574

Camille Saint-Saëns / Eugène Ysaÿe: Caprice d'après l'étude en forme de valse

On stage: 01.10.2021, 1:25 p.m.

Accompanied by Lolita Lisovskaya-Sayevich.



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Concert for violin and orchestra in D major, KV 218

Béla Bartók: Divertimento, Sz 113

On stage: 05.10.2021, 6:00 p.m.


Joseph Haydn: String quartet movement

Robert Schumann: Sonata for violin and piano No. 2 in D minor, Op. 121 – I. Ziemlich langsam

Ernest Chausson: Poème, op. 25

Daniel Ott: Double Aria

Pjotr Iljitsch Tchaikovsky: Six Romances, op. 6 No. 6 "None but the lonely heart"

Claude Debussy: Sonata for violin and piano in G minor, L 140

On stage: 07.10.2021, 3:00 p.m.



Manfred Trojahn: To be played in the garden

Johannes Brahms: Concert for violin and orchestra in D major, op. 77

On stage: 10.10.2021, Final Concerts Part 2 (4:00 p.m. till 6:20 p.m.)